向全世界展示您的研究成果

面向杰出的科学家

关于奖项

Sartorius & Science Prize for Regenerative Medicine & Cell Therapy 主要面向致力于基础研究、转化研究的科学家,推动再生医学和细胞治疗领域的发展。该奖项设立于2017年,旨在奖励申请人杰出的研究工作;同时,共同努力来提高人们对该领域的认知及其对未来的重要意义。

Sartorius & Science Prize for Regenerative Medicine & Cell Therapy 冠军将获得25,000美元奖金,并在_Science_杂志 (纸制杂志和电子杂志)上发表研究短文。同时,评选出最多三名亚军,每人奖励5,000美元奖金,并在_Science_ Online电子杂志上发表研究短文。冠军和亚军还将受邀参加颁奖典礼,并获得五年AAAS会员资格、Science在线订阅和赛多利斯精致福利礼包!

 

 

顶部

2017年度Sartorius & Science Prize for Regenerative Medicine & Cell Therapy冠军和亚军得主

Kole Roybal博士、助理教授

加州大学旧金山分校 | 助理教授

个人简介

Kole是加州大学旧金山分校微生物与免疫学系助理教授、帕克免疫治疗研究所成员以及陈扎克伯格生物中心研究员。他的实验室利用合成和化学生物学工具,面向未来,开发针对癌症和自身免疫性疾病的免疫细胞治疗。Roybal在美国德克萨斯大学西南医学中心 (达拉斯) 获得分子免疫学博士学位。在此期间他研究了免疫细胞激活和清除感染细胞的基本原理和生物化学机制。在加州大学旧金山分校Wendell Lim实验室担任Jane Coffin Childs博士后研究员期间,他开发了一类新的合成性受体,称为合成性Notch受体,借此可对治疗性细胞进行前所未有的定制,用于多种疾病的治疗。

摘要:精准调节细胞治疗

合成性Notch受体扩大了工程化T细胞的治疗潜能

研究概要

对治疗性细胞的活性进行定制和改造的能力,能够极大地改善细胞治疗用于癌症、自身免疫性疾病和再生医学领域时的安全性和有效性。鉴于此,我们最近开发出一类新的合成性受体,称为合成性Notch (synNotch) 受体,该受体识别出疾病或组织相关信号后,可直接诱导一种定制性转录反应。SynNotch受体可极为有效地精确调控诸如T细胞等免疫细胞的治疗活性。SynNotch T细胞具有更强的疾病组织识别能力,局部治疗作用更强,超过免疫系统自然产生的作用。因此,SynNotch受体环路可以作为一种通用平台,用于针对多种疾病制定精准的细胞治疗。

奖励:25,000美元 + 在Science杂志纸质版和Science online发表

 

Watch Kole Roybal‘s interview

 

 Watch Kole Roybal‘s lecture

Shruti Naik, Ph.D.

美国洛克菲勒大学 | Damon Runyon癌症研究员

个人简介

Shruti拥有美国马里兰大学的细胞分子生物学学士学位,通过美国宾夕法尼亚大学-国立卫生研究院研究生合作计划获得免疫学博士学位。她发现我们皮肤上存在的被称为共生菌群的正常细菌,可训练免疫系统,保护我们免受有害病原体地侵袭。她的工作揭示了免疫细胞如何与细菌伙伴合作,预防疾病的发生,开启了皮肤微生物群治疗的大门。Naik目前是美国洛克菲勒大学的Damon Runyon癌症研究员,研究免疫细胞与干细胞之间的相互作用,致力于开发针对炎症性疾病的干细胞疗法。她还是女性参与科学研究的积极倡导者,是洛克菲勒女科学家组织 (Women in Science) 成员,在实验室担任女性实习生导师。

摘要:痛苦记忆的治愈能力

表皮干细胞可“记忆”炎症,加快日后创伤修复

研究概要

机体的上皮屏障包括皮肤、肺和肠道总是暴露在病原体和有害物质的损伤之下。然而,对于这些屏障组织如何应对重复出现的挑战,我们所知有限。Naik发现上皮组织的基础单位即干细胞可记忆急性炎症反应。这种炎症记忆编码在上皮干细胞内的染色质水平,使干细胞能够对日后的应激源如创伤等更快地做出反应。这样,上皮就能从环境应激信号中学习并产生适应反应,从而有利于组织适应和功能。上述发现显示炎症记忆并非免疫细胞独有,同样也存在于寿命持久的上皮干细胞中。这种对炎症记忆的理解对于使用干细胞疗法治疗炎症性上皮疾病、慢性创伤和癌症有重要的意义。

奖励:5,000美元 + 在Science Online发表

 

Watch Shruti Naik‘s interview

 

Watch Shruti Naik‘s lecture

Fotios Sampaziotis医生、博士

英国剑桥大学 | 临床讲师

个人简介

Fotios毕业于希腊雅典大学,获医学学位,随后前往英国继续肝脏病学家专业培训,并在剑桥大学取得干细胞生物学博士学位。在博士研究期间,他开创性地使用类胆管器官建立胆管系统疾病模型,测试了多种药物,并发现了新的治疗药物。目前,作为英国剑桥大学的肝脏病学临床讲师,Fotios继续其在基础医学与临床医学交叉领域的研究,并在艾登布鲁克斯医院开展临床工作。他的科研工作重点是整合类器官、生物工程和动物研究,重建肝脏中受损的胆管,提供肝移植外另一种替代疗法。

摘要:构建更好的胆管

类器官模型有望提升我们对于胆管疾病的理解

研究概要

胆管疾病具有很高的发病率和死亡率,目前仍是儿童和成年患者肝移植的首要原因。虽然此类疾病影响巨大,但是由于缺乏合适的模型系统研究其发病机制和筛选新的药物,我们对它们的了解和治疗方法还都十分有限。Fotios发明了一套类胆管器官培养系统,该系统可在实验室中再现多种胆管疾病的关键特征,为克服上述难题做出了贡献。当他测试了多种化合物并最终发现一种治疗性药物可用于治疗胆管囊性纤维化疾病时,这种类器官在新疗法开发中的价值得以显现。而且,Fotios还利用来自健康个体的类器官和可生物降解的支架在实验室构建人体生物生物工程胆管。他随后将这种工程化器官移植到动物模型中,发现该器官可成功替代药物治疗无效的终末期受损胆管。Fotios的工作对于将类器官用于器官工程具有重大意义,也是再生医学在胆管疾病中应用的首批实例。

奖励:5,000美元 + 在Science Online发表

 

Watch Fotis Sampaziotis interview

 

Watch Fotis Sampaziotis lecture

Will McLean博士

Frequency Therapeutics公司 | 共同创始人及生物学与再生医学部副总裁

个人简介

Will本科期间在美国塔夫斯大学攻读生物学,后来在美国麻省理工学院 (MIT) 的哈佛麻省理工健康科学技术部获得博士学位。Will本科期间的研究重点是内耳听觉和平衡器官的神经元。他在MIT的博士研究阐明了内耳中存在独特的祖细胞类型,这些细胞能够形成感觉细胞和神经细胞。在哈佛医学院的博士后研究期间,他研究使用小分子药物调控信号通路,使其他方面已衰老的耳蜗祖细胞分化并形成新的感觉细胞。他目前是Frequency Therapeutics公司生物学与再生医学部副总裁,该公司由他以及Bob Langer和Jeff Karp共同创立。公司正利用Will以往工作积累的经验,开发能够使损失的感觉细胞再生从而治疗听力损失的药物。

摘要:迈向真正治愈听力障碍之路

祖细胞的再生能力有望逆转听力损失

研究概要

全球有超过3.6亿人 (占总人口5%) 患有听力障碍,大多数是由噪声暴露、药物及其他环境因素造成特化的内耳感觉细胞损失所致。目前,只能借助助听器和人工耳蜗等仪器治疗这些患者,上述两种方法均无法使导致疾病的基础生物学缺陷恢复。Will最初的研究发现内耳中存在一种新的祖细胞,不同的祖细胞群体可分别形成听觉、平衡和神经细胞。尽管个体发育后这些祖细胞仍存在于内耳中,但大都不具备修复受损组织的能力。受到肠道天然具有再生能力的启发,Will的工作显示一种药物组合可将正常老化的耳蜗毛细胞祖细胞重新编程为更具可塑性的状态,从而诱导其分裂。这些祖细胞随后可转化为几乎纯粹的毛细胞群体。从最初在单个细胞上的发现开始,Will发现利用这些分子治疗受损的耳蜗,可诱导祖细胞分裂,使损失的毛细胞原位再生。体内应用时,这些化合物可使听力损失动物毛细胞数量增加,听力出现功能性改善。基于上述结果,Frequency Therapeutics拓展了这些化合物在人体应用的开发,日前启动了一项I期临床安全性试验。

奖励:5,000美元 + 在Science Online发表

 

Watch Will McLean‘s interview

 

Watch Will McLean‘s lecture

首届Sartorius & Science大奖颁奖典礼

2018年3月20日,在德国哥廷根大学Adam-von-Trott-Saal宴会厅,哥廷根大学校长Beisiegel博士/教授、Sartorius执行副总裁、集团执行委员会成员Gerry MacKay及Science系列杂志出版人Bill Moran一起正式宣布庆典开幕。

这一颁奖典礼是为了表彰并庆祝4位杰出的研究人员取得的成就,他们参与竞逐2018年首次颁发的Sartorius & Science Prize for Regenerative Medicine & Cell Therapy年度大奖。

出席现场的嘉宾有100位,他们是来自14个国家和地区相关行业和学术研究机构的代表,这些嘉宾也出席了在哥廷根举办的第二届Research Xchange论坛。在大家热烈地掌声中,Science 杂志 (AAAS) 生物医学编辑Priscilla N. Kelly博士和Sartorius实验室产品与服务事业部副总裁Karen Storm为大奖冠军得主和三位亚军隆重颁发了这项备受赞誉的奖项。

祝贺各位获奖者,非常感谢所有参与者让这个颁奖典礼成为一次极为难忘的盛会。

Impressions of the Sartorius & Science Prize Ceremony 2018

顶部

大会剪影

关于赛多利斯、再生医学和细胞治疗

赛多利斯集团是国际领先的制药和实验室设备供应商,旗下有两个业务部门:生物工艺解决方案部门(BPS)和实验室产品与服务部门(LPS)。

生物制品是采用活细胞,经由复杂、冗长且成本高昂的工艺生产制备出来的。BPS致力于研发一次性使用解决方案,帮助客户安全有效地生产生物制品和疫苗。事实上,赛多利斯一直在倡导和设立一次性产品的标准,这些产品广泛应用于生物制药的所有生产工艺。

在大量优质的实验室仪器、耗材和服务的支持下,LPS部门致力于满足科学研究实验室和质量保证实验室的各种需求,服务于制药和生物制药企业、学术研究机构等。通过战略收购,我们的产品组合得以进一步拓展,以适应再生医学和细胞治疗行业的新兴需求。 LPS的创新型生物分析工具帮助科学家解决根本的、复杂的生物学问题。在细胞扩增和收获的端到端的生产平台中,以及质量控制的关键安全方面,赛多利斯专注于快速、多元地对细胞、蛋白质和病毒进行定量分析。

赛多利斯集团成立于1870年,2016年的销售收入超过13亿欧元。集团在全球约有7000名员工,设有50个生产和销售基地,为全球客户提供服务。

关于 Science / AAAS

美国科学促进会(AAAS)是世界上最大的综合科学联合体,是 Science、Science Translational Medicine、Science Signaling、Science Advances、 Science Advances, Science Immunology 和 Science Robotics 等学术期刊的出版商。AAAS成立于1848年,包括约254个下属学会和科学研究院,为1000万人提供服务。Science由托马斯·爱迪生创立,是世界上最大的有偿发行、同行评审的通用科学杂志,估计读者总数超过40万人。

非营利性AAAS(www.aaas.org)对所有人开放,通过对科学政策、国际项目、科学教育等方面的倡议,实现“促进科学,服务社会”的使命。Science 的每日在线新闻、社论、具有广泛公共卫生意义的文章、以及发表12个月后的所有研究论文,都始终对公众免费开放。Science 也通过各种努力来帮助世界最贫穷国家的科学家们实现自由访问。

顶部

Present your research to the science world.

Exceptional researchers wanted.

In March, the Grand Prize Winner and the three finalists of the 2017 Sartorius & Science Prize for Regenerative Medicine & Cell Therapy were ceremoniously presented with their awards during the Research Xchange Forum in Trends and Challenges on Regenerative Medicine & Cell Therapy.

Now, it is time to start the search for new outstanding scientists and their groundbreaking research to be honored with the 2018 Prize. The work of the applicants will be assessed and evaluated by an experienced panel of experts drawn together by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and Science Journals.

Are you a representative of the upcoming generation of thought leaders in your field? Then, go ahead and use this exciting opportunity to introduce yourself and your pioneering research to the world! Together we look forward to receiving your application for the 2018Sartorius & Science Prize in Regenerative Medicine and Cell Therapy.

Application for the 2018 Sartorius & Science Prize opens April 1st and closes October 1st 2018.

Apply now

About the prize

The Sartorius & Science Prize for Regenerative Medicine & Cell Therapy is an annual prize aimed at supporting and encouraging scientists focused on basic or translational research that advances medical progress in regenerative medicine and cell therapy. Established in 2017, the prize is awarded for outstanding research performed by the applicant and as a mutual endeavor to raise awareness for the field and its fundamental significance for our future.

The winner of the Sartorius & Science Prize for Regenerative Medicine & Cell Therapy is awarded US$25,000 and a publication of his or her essay in Science. This Grand Prize essay and those of up to three runners-up are also published on Science Online. The winner and the runners-up will be invited to attend the formal award ceremony. Furthermore, a 5-year AAAS membership and online subscription to Science, accompanied by other perks and benefits from Sartorius, are awarded!

Eligible Fields

Entries can be made in the fields of regenerative medicine, cell therapy, gene therapy, immunotherapy as well as materials and tissue engineering.

Eligibility

Every individual scientist who received his or her PhD|MD within the past 10 years may apply.

Required documents

Please submit a 1,000-word essay describing your research and its implications for regenerative medicine and cell immunotherapy as well as supporting documents.

Next application

April 1st until October 1st 2018

Learn more

top

Grand Prize Winner and Finalists of the 2017 Sartorius & Science Prize for Regenerative Medicine & Cell Therapy

Kole Roybal, Ph.D., Assoc. Prof.

Assistant Professor | University of California, San Francisco

Biography

Kole is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Microbiology and Immunology at the University of California, San Francisco, a member of the Parker Institute for Immunotherapy, and a Chan Zuckerberg Biohub Investigator. His lab harnesses the tools of synthetic and chemical biology to engineer the immune cells therapies for cancer and autoimmunity of the future. Roybal received his doctorate in Molecular Immunology from the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas. There he studied the fundamental cellular and biochemical mechanisms required for immune cell activation and clearance of infections. While a Jane Coffin Childs Postdoctoral Fellow in Wendell Lim’s lab at the University of California, San Francisco, he developed a new class of synthetic receptors called synthetic Notch receptors, which provide unprecedented customization of therapeutic cells for the treatment of a broad range of diseases.

Abstract: Refining cell therapy

Synthetic Notch receptors expand the therapeutic potential of engineered T cells

Summary

The ability to customize and shape the activity of therapeutic cells could dramatically improve the safety and efficacy of cellular therapies for cancer, autoimmunity, and regenerative medicine. Given this, we have recently developed a novel class of synthetic receptors called synthetic Notch (synNotch) receptors that directly induce a custom transcriptional response when they recognize disease or tissue-related cues. SynNotch receptors are remarkably effective for precise control over the therapeutic activity of immune cells such as T cells. SynNotch T cells are capable of enhanced recognition of diseased tissues and localized therapeutic action that goes beyond what is naturally achieved by the immune system. SynNotch receptor circuits are, therefore, a versatile platform to program precision cellular therapies for a broad range of diseases.

Prize: US $ 25,000 + publication in Science Print and Online

 

Watch Kole Roybal‘s interview

 

Watch Kole Roybal‘s lecture

Shruti Naik, Ph.D.

Damon Runyon Cancer Research Fellow | Rockefeller University

Biography

Shruti received her B.S. in Cell and Molecular Biology from the University of Maryland and her Ph.D. in Immunology from the University of Pennsylvania-National Institutes of Health Graduate Partnership Program. Here she discovered that normal bacteria living on our skin, known as the commensal microbiota, educate the immune system and help protect us from harmful pathogens. Her work unveiled how immune cells work with our microbial partners to prevent disease and has opened the door for microbiota-based therapies in the skin. Naik is currently a Damon Runyon Cancer Research Fellow at the Rockefeller University. She is studying the interactions between immune cells and stem cells in an effort to develop stem cell based therapies for inflammatory disorders. She is also a strong advocate for women in science, a member of Women in Science at Rockefeller and mentors female trainees in the laboratory.

Abstract: The healing power of painful memories

Epidermal stem cells “remember” inflammation, accelerating subsequent wound repair

Summary

The body’s epithelial barriers, including the skin, lung, and intestine are routinely exposed to damage causing pathogenic and noxious agents. Yet, our understanding of how barrier tissues cope with such recurrent pressures is limited. Naik found that the fundamental units of epithelial tissues, their stem cells, remember acute inflammatory encounters. This memory of inflammation is encoded at the level of chromatin within epithelial stem cells and endows them with the ability to respond faster to subsequent stressors such as wounding. Thus, epithelia learn from and adapt to environmental stress signals for the sake of tissue fitness and function. These findings reveal that inflammatory memory is not a unique feature of immune cells but also extends to long-lived epithelial stem cells. Such an understanding of inflammatory memory has important implications for the use of stem cell based therapies to treat inflammatory epithelial diseases, chronic wounds, and cancers.

Prize: US $ 5,000 + publication in Science Online

 

Watch Shruti Naik‘s interview

 

Watch Shruti Naik‘s lecture

Fotios Sampaziotis M.D., Ph.D.

Clinical Lecturer | University of Cambridge

Biography

Fotios graduated from the University Of Athens in Greece with a degree in Medicine, before relocating to the United Kingdom to continue his specialty training as a hepatologist and obtain a PhD in Stem Cell biology from the University of Cambridge. During his doctoral research he pioneered the use of bile duct organoids to model diseases of the biliary system, test multiple drugs and identify novel therapeutic agents. Currently, Fotios continues his research at the interface between basic science and clinical medicine as a Clinical Lecturer in Hepatology in the University of Cambridge with clinical commitments in Addenbrooke’s hospital. His scientific work focuses on combining organoids, bioengineering and animal studies to regenerate damaged bile ducts in the liver as an alternative therapy to liver transplantation.

Abstract: Building better bile ducts

An organoid-based model promises to improve our understanding of bile duct disorders

Summary

Bile duct disorders carry significant morbidity and mortality and remain a leading cause for liver transplantation in children and adults. Despite their impact, these disorders remain poorly understood with minimal treatment options, due to the lack of appropriate model systems to study their pathogenesis and screen for new drugs. Fotios contributed to overcoming this challenge by inventing a system for culturing bile duct organoids which reproduced key features of various biliary diseases in the lab. The value of these organoids for developing new therapies became apparent when he tested multiple compounds and managed to identify a therapeutic agent which could be used as a new treatment for Cystic Fibrosis biliary disease. Furthermore, Fotios used organoids from healthy individuals and bio-degradable scaffolds to engineer human bio-artificial bile ducts in the lab. He then transplanted these engineered organs in animal models and demonstrated that they could successfully replace terminally damaged bile ducts in cases not amenable to pharmacological treatment. Fotios’ work has significant implications for the use of organoids in organ engineering and constitutes one of the first examples for the application of regenerative medicine in the context of biliary disorders.

Prize: US $ 5,000 + publication in Science Online

 

Watch Fotis Sampaziotis interview

 

Watch Fotis Sampaziotis lecture

Will McLean, Ph.D.

Co-founder | Vice President Biology and Regenerative Medicine | Frequency Therapeutics

Biography

As an undergraduate, Will studied Biology at Tufts University, before going on to attain a Ph.D. at MIT within the Harvard-MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology. Will’s undergraduate research focused on studying the neurons of the hearing and balance organs of the inner ear. While at MIT, his doctoral research elucidated the distinct progenitor cell types that exist within inner ear and their capacity to form sensory cells and neural cell types. As a postdoctoral researcher at Harvard Medical School, Will’s research investigated the use of small molecule drugs to manipulate signaling pathways to enable otherwise senescent progenitor cells of the cochlea to divide and form new sensory cells. Will is currently the Vice President of Biology and Regenerative Medicine at Frequency Therapeutics, a company he co-founded with Bob Langer and Jeff Karp. Frequency is currently utilizing insights from Will’s previous work to develop a drug to treat hearing loss by regenerating lost sensory cells.

Abstract: Toward a true cure for hearing impairment

The regenerative power of progenitor cells holds promise for reversing hearing loss

Summary

Over 360 million people (5% of the population) experience hearing impairment, which is largely caused by the loss of specialized inner ear sensory cells from noise exposure, medications, and other environmental factors. Currently, only devices such as hearing aids and cochlear implants exist to treat these patients, both of which do not restore the underlying biological deficit that causes the disease. Will’s initial research identified a new progenitor cell type within the inner ear, and showed that separate populations of progenitors can generate hearing, balance, and neural cell types. Although these progenitor cells are present within the inner ear after development, they are largely incapable of repairing damaged tissue. Using insights garnered from the intestine’s innate regenerative ability, Will’s work demonstrated that a drug combination could induce the normally senescent cochlear hair cell progenitors to divide by reprogramming them to a more plastic state. These progenitor cells could be subsequently converted into nearly pure populations of hair cells. From this initial discovery with single cells, Will found that treating damaged cochleae with these molecules could induce progenitor cells to divide and regenerate lost hair cells in situ. When applied in vivo, these compounds increase hair cell numbers and elicit a functional hearing improvement in animals with hearing loss. Based on these results, Frequency Therapeutics has expanded development of these compounds for human use and recently initiated Phase I clinical safety trials

Prize: US $ 5,000 + publication in Science Online

 

Watch Will McLean‘s interview

 

Watch Will McLean‘s lecture

Sartorius & Science Prize Award Ceremony

On March 20, 2018, in the Adam-von-Trott-Saal, the banquet hall of the University of Goettingen, Germany, Prof. Dr. Beisiegel, President of the Georg-August-Universität Goettingen, together with Gerry MacKay, Executive Vice President and member of the Group Executive Committee from Sartorius, and Bill Moran, Publisher of the Science Family of Journals, officially opened the festive event.

This inaugural ceremony was held to honor and celebrate the achievements of four well-deserved researchers who competed for the annual Sartorius & Science Prize for Regenerative Medicine & Cell Therapy, awarded for the first time in 2018.

In the presence of 100 applauding guests, including representatives from industry and academic research from as many as 14 countries who also attended the 2nd Research Xchange Forum hosted in Göttingen, Dr. Priscilla N. Kelly, Editor of Biomedicine, Science (AAAS), and Karen Storm, Vice President of Marketing of the Lab Products & Services Division at Sartorius ceremoniously presented this prestigious award to the Grand Prize Winner and the three finalists.

Congratulations to the winners and a big thanks to all participants for making this award ceremony a very memorable event.

top

Impressions of the Event

About Sartorius and the field of regenerative medicine & cell therapy

The Sartorius Group is a leading international pharmaceutical and laboratory equipment provider with two divisions: Bioprocess Solutions (BPS) and Lab Products & Services (LPS).

Biopharmaceuticals are manufactured using living cells in complex, lengthy and expensive procedures. BPS focuses on single-use solutions which help customers produce biotech medications and vaccines safely and efficiently. In fact, Sartorius has been pioneering and setting the standard for single-use products which are extensively used in all biopharmaceutical manufacturing processes.

Backed by an extensive offering of premium laboratory instruments, consumables and services, the LPS division concentrates on serving the needs of laboratories in life science research, both in industry and academic institutes. Through recent strategic acquisitions, the portfolio was further enhanced with bioanalytical platforms to support the emerging needs and complexities of the regenerative medicine and cell therapy industries. New innovative bioanalytical tools help scientists find faster answers to fundamental and complex biological questions in drug discovery applications, complemented by end-to-end production platforms for cell expansion and harvesting, and the crucial safety aspects of quality control.

Founded in 1870, Sartorius earned sales revenue of more than 1.4 billion euros in 2017. Approximately 7,500 people work at the Group’s 50 manufacturing and sales sites, serving customers around the globe.

About Science/AAAS

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) is the world's largest general scientific society, and publisher of the journals, Science, Science Translational Medicine, Science Signaling, Science Advances, Science Immunology, and Science Robotics. AAAS was founded in 1848, and includes some 254 affiliated societies and academies of science, serving 10 million individuals. Science, founded by Thomas Edison, has the largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed general science journal in the world, with an estimated total readership of more than 400,000.

 

The non-profit AAAS — www.aaas.org — is open to all and fulfills its mission to "advance science and serve society" through initiatives in science policy, international programs, science education, and more. Science's daily online news is always free to the public, as are editorials, any paper with broad public health significance, and all research articles 12 months after publication. Science further participates in various efforts to provide free access for scientists in the world's poorest countries.

top